Storify This!

Before starting the News and Journalism unit, news curation and tools such as Storify were completely unknown to me. It seemed however, a completely necessary tool for modern journalism as soon as I learned of its uses.

News curation is a method of filtering the news, organising and sharing the most important information on a particular topic.

Storify is one such tool for doing this, as users can pull information from a variety of sources and lay out the information in a simplistic, easy to read timeline. For example, I was able to take information organise it in a preferred order and produce a multimedia timeline of news from this wide range of sources:

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Getty Images
  • Instagram
  • Pinterest
  • Google+
  • Flickr
  • Youtube

Storify, I found, was particularly useful when trying to find out the core of a story, as it removed all the news noise from multiple sources and presented me with the clearest facts and most important information.

Whilst at the time, a live blogging of a football match keeps me up to date with the game, after the match has finished it unnecessary to read through all the text again. Storify can pull highlights and events out at present them in the same chronological order, showing only the things I want to see.

There is a debate as to whether news curation can count as journalism on the grounds that it is simply pulling information from sources rather than gathering news first hand. However, if we look at traditional journalism, editors for newspapers decide what is important, what should be on the front page, and how the news is ordered. A news curator simply does this using media as the source of information and presents it through Storify rather than print.

The most important aspect of Storify was the ability to merge existing information such as tweets and photographs, and create a new point of view on an issue. Storify allowed me to add in text of my own to express myself, so I took highlights from the Liverpool vs Real Madrid game and explored it at a different angle; how journalists used social media to engage an audience in debates as the game played out.

storify2

The key to Storify is that we can all now curate the news, we all have the ability to decide what is important to us, and we all have the ability to present these issues in our own way.

By exploring topics through social media, I found both facts and reliable news from organisational sources (such as the BBC), but more importantly I was able to incorporate opinions of the general public that had been expressed in response through Twitter.

Storify, overall, gave me a much wider view of an issue than just reading a newspaper or online feature. It pulled in a variety of sources, information and opinions, and granted me scope to use this information in a way I saw fit.

Although none of the information was sourced by myself, I still felt like I owned the piece of work I had created; it was my personal ordering of events and information, to support the issue and opinions I was focusing on.

Leave a Reply

